The Penn State University Sheild
open the search bar
Open the menu

2014 William and Anne Bortz Hajjar Memorial Design Competition Winners

Printer-friendly version Share
2014 Hajjar Memorial Design Competition Winners

On January 22, the Department of Architecture at Penn State held its thirteenth annual William and Anne Bortz Hajjar Memorial Scholarship Design Competition in the Stuckeman Family Building. This year’s prompt was to design a cabin/studio for a landscape painter in State College in the Holmes Foster Neighborhood.

Forty-three third-year architecture students submitted designs and models of their plans and gave three-minute presentations about their projects. Three jurors asked them questions after their presentations as part of the three-minute proposals. This year’s jurors enhanced the quality of the competition: John Dixon Hunt, Eleanor R. Stuckeman Chair in Design; Marlon Blackwell, Department Head of the Fay Jones School of Architecture at the University of Arkansas; and Sarah Rich, associate professor of art history at Penn State.

Lindsay Connelly won first place with her project, “The Haven.” Jurors called her proposal “logical” and “edgy” with “a sublime relation to place.” They also appreciated her choice of the home’s orientation toward northern light for the painter/resident. The winners will receive monetary prizes toward their tuition for the Penn State study abroad Rome program.

To read the full story, click  here.