The Penn State University Sheild
open the search bar
Open the menu

Faculty and Staff Honored by USITT

Printer-friendly version Share
Lea Asbell-Swanger and Dave Will

College of Arts and Architecture faculty and staff were recently recognized at the United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT) national conference in Salt Lake City.

Lea Asbell-Swanger, assistant director of the Center for the Performing Arts and immediate past president of USITT, received the Joel E. Rubin Founders Award, in recognition of outstanding and continued service to the institute. Active in USITT since joining in 1992, she was named a fellow in 2012. In addition to serving as president, her leadership positions have included vice commissioner for Human Issues and for Programming, member of the Board of Directors, and chair of the 21st-Century Task Force and Transition Advisory Team. She also co-chaired USITT’s Living History Project. She is an inaugural member of the USITT Diversity and Inclusion Committee.

Dave Will, longtime facilities manager for the College of Arts and Architecture who retired in 2014, was named a fellow of USITT. Active in USITT for nearly 25 years, he served as vice president for conferences from 2009 to 2014. Will coordinated the organization’s 50th-anniversary celebration in 2010, in addition to the annual USITT Conference and Stage Expo in 2011 and 2012. He previously served as management commissioner, and was a member of the commissioners’ steering committee for six consecutive years, helping guide the scheduling of conference activities. Along with serving two terms on the Board of Directors, Will chaired the 1997 annual conference held in Pittsburgh.

Dan Robinson, head of design and production programs in the School of Theatre, received a Herbert D. Greggs Merit Award for his article, “Foundations of American Costume Design: The innovations and legacy of Frank Poole Bevan,” published in Theatre Design & Technology in fall 2013.

For more information on USITT, visit

Photo: Lea Asbell-Swanger and Dave Will