The Penn State University Sheild
open the search bar
Open the menu

Moscow State Symphony, featuring cello soloist Joshua Roman, performs classics by Saint-Saëns, Brahms and Gounod Nov. 11 at Eisenhower Auditorium

Printer-friendly version Share
Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

The Moscow State Symphony Orchestra, led by conductor Pavel Kogan and featuring American cellist Joshua Roman, performs music by Saint-Saëns, Brahms and Gounod at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 11, in Penn State’s Eisenhower Auditorium.

A San Francisco Chronicle critic described Roman, soloist for Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, as “a cellist of extraordinary technical and musical gifts.” The Oklahoma City native is also a composer, curator and programmer. He’s recognized for his efforts as the artistic director of Seattle Town Hall’s Town Music series and as a next-generation innovator named a 2011 TED Fellow.

The orchestra’s program also includes music from Gounod’s ballet “Faust” and Brahms’ Symphony No. 4 in E minor.

Tickets for the Center for the Performing Arts presentation are $57 for an adult, $22 for a University Park student and $47 for a person 18 and younger. Buy tickets online at or by phone at 814-863-0255. Outside the calling area, dial 800-ARTS-TIX. Tickets are also available at four State College locations: Eisenhower Auditorium (weekdays 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.), Penn State Downtown Theatre Center (weekdays 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Saturdays 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.), HUB-Robeson Center Information Desk (weekdays 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.) and Bryce Jordan Center (weekdays 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.). A grant from the University Park Allocation Committee makes Penn State student prices possible.

For more information, visit the website: